Home > Uncategorized > How Many Can You Do?

How Many Can You Do?

If you want to impress me, perform multiple pull-ups.  And by multiple, I don’t mean 3-4…*yawn*…I mean double digits.  If you’re  female, I’ll take you out for a beer if you can perform at least 6 solid reps.  If you’re  male,  and can perform at least 12 reps, you can date my sister.  The pull-up is the king of all pulling exercises.  If you can perform multiple reps, then you’re part of an ever decreasing fraternity.  In an age where people are looking for short cuts and 30 minute, one-size-fits-all machine based workout, it’s comforting to know there are some people who take pride in their athletic ability.                                                                                                                                          So here’s the question…how many can you do?

  1. greg
    March 7, 2010 at 13:20

    hey jess, actually i am trying in pull ups- it is tough. what would you say is the best way to get, say 12 or more pull-ups (we talk about the date later :-)? constantly trying, which means in the beginning 4 or 5 pulls or at least eg. seven/eight pulls in case of with help? …..

    greg

    • March 7, 2010 at 14:59

      Greg, when first starting to perform chin-ups or pull-ups, is to begin with your strongest grip…that would be the semi-supinated (palms face each other) grip. Ensure you use perfect form for each rep…come up all the way until forearm and your biceps touch, chin over the bar and descend until you no longer have any bend in the elbow…taking 3-4 seconds to come down. Perform as many reps using this form. Once you max out, I would continue to do 4-5 extra eccentric reps (the coming down portion only) taking 8-10 seconds to come down. Take 90 seocnds between each eccentric rep and use a chair/platform to stand on to get your chin over the bar for the start.
      Good luck and let me know how your training goes,
      Jess Banda

    • March 14, 2010 at 16:45

      Perform as many as you can on your own, then perform the eccentric (lowering) portion only. Take 8-10 seconds to come down…perform as many reps until you can’t maintain the 8-10 seconds.
      JB

  2. March 9, 2010 at 23:17

    It’s a shame I don’t drink beer! …but thanks for the encouragement, you made me a happy girl. 🙂 I’ve been doing pull-ups for years now, solids and kipping, but I can still vaguely recall the time when one rep was my max… *sigh*

    Thanks for an interesting blog! Just found it.

    • March 10, 2010 at 11:55

      Thanks for the reply, glad you like my blog. Is monkeyfood your site? I really love the recipes!
      Cheers,
      Jess Banda

  3. March 10, 2010 at 12:13

    Yeps, monkeyfood’s my cooking blog and then I just put up a fresh blog meripekkanen.com which tackles some health issues, especially nutrition and occupational therapy wise. Already borrowed something you’ve picked up, the omega-3 research, thanks for that, hope it’s okay! I meet a lot of clients with different memory illnesses in my work as an OT so it’s important and close to my heart.

    Brilliant if you can find some worthy recipes from monkeyfood! Loving the paleo diet.

    • March 10, 2010 at 14:39

      I use Paleo for 95% of my clients seems to work “miracles” for all people.
      JB

    • March 10, 2010 at 14:43

      By the way, I used to be an occupational therapist in university…you can reach me at JB@JessBanda.com
      My other websites: Bandaperformance.com JessBanda.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

