Home > pitching > The Making of A Pitcher…Hunter Brown

The Making of A Pitcher…Hunter Brown

Meet Hunter Brown, an up-and-coming pitcher from Connecticut.  Hunter contcted me about working with him in 2007, after hearing about my success with another CT pitcher, Matt Harvey.  During my initial meeting with Hunter, I was impressed by his respect of the game, telling me he wanted to become the “best pitcher possible.”  Hunter’s and his parent’s dedication quickly became apparent, as for two years, they drove 45 minutes each way, four days a week, to train with me.  In 2009, Hunter transferred to a different school, which brought an end to our training sessions.  But not even the distance discouraged Hunter from becoming the best athlete possible, as he asked me to design training programs he could perform at his school’s weight room.  But even with a poorly equipped weight room, Hunter has made his dream of playing college baseball come true.  Here’s what Hunter has to say:

“Since 2007, I have been training with Jess Banda to become a better baseball player, and more importantly a better athlete. He concentrated on workouts that would help me as a baseball pitcher, while increasing my flexibility. When I first started working with Jess, I was 6 ft talk and 180 lbs and pitching around 77 mph. I am now 6’3” and 205 lbs and throwing around 87 mph. I’ve added 10 mph on my fastball, as well as gained 25 lbs of muscle. He has helped me reach many of my goals of becoming a serious athlete physically as well as mentally. Last month, I accepted an offer to play baseball and attend school at Azusa Pacific University in Azusa, California. They are a powerhouse baseball program currently ranked 17th in the country, and I would have never been able to make that happen without the help of Jess Banda. He supported me during our workouts, and motivated me to work hard every day in the gym and outside the gym to be the best.  Without the help of Jess Banda over the last few years, I would not be where I am today, and would recommend his work to anyone looking to get in better shape, or become a better athlete.”

 I am honored to have worked with Hunter, and am grateful for the role he played in making me a better coach.  Hunter Brown is proof that if you want something bad enough, you can make it happen.  Remember the name Hunter Brown, because you’ll be hearing it plenty in the near future.

  1. justsomemalarkey
    March 1, 2010 at 19:29

    That’s my brother! A great article on a great kid. Do you mind if I re-post this on my own blog?

    -Kailey Brown

    • March 2, 2010 at 08:16

      Hi Kailey, please do link the post to your blog. Sent me a link, I’d like to check it out. You should be proud of your brother, his dedication is rare to find.
      Sincerely,
      Jess

  2. truth
    March 3, 2010 at 00:16

    17th in the country? “Azusa Pacific University” is not part of the NCAA.

    • March 3, 2010 at 11:05

      Azusa Pacific University is a member of the NAIA, not NCAA, and they are ranked 17th in the country still. The poll is from novemeber and is the preseaon poll. The new poll has not come out yet.

      Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
      Jess B.

  3. Samantha
    March 7, 2010 at 17:05

    He’s my brother too and I am so thankful for you posting this, he really is a great kid! Thank you for teaching him it does not go unnoticed!

    • March 7, 2010 at 18:42

      It’s been my pleasure working with your brother. He’ll be a great addition to any team.
      Jess Banda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

